Saudi Arabia suspends flights from seven African countries

Friday, November 26, 2021

RIYADH — Saudi Arabia has suspended flights from seven southern African countries on Friday, after South Africa detected a new COVID-19 variant.

All flights are set to be suspended from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Botswana.

An official source in the interior ministry said the decision includes suspending entry to the Kingdom for non-nationals, who come directly and indirectly from the mentioned African countries except for those who have spent a period of no less than 14 days in another country from which health procedures in the Kingdom allow entry to those coming from.

Provided that the entire approved institutional quarantine procedures for a period of five days are applied to all excluded groups coming from these countries, including citizens of the Kingdom, regardless of the status of immunization.

The source explained that all procedures and measures are subject to continuous evaluation by the competent health authorities in the Kingdom, according to the developments in the epidemiological situation globally.

The source also warned citizens and residents to avoid traveling to the seven African countries until further notice.